Where Do We Go When We Die?

Oluwafemi Ojosu
2 min readMay 16, 2022

--

Oftentimes, when I consider how my light has been spent,
when I am faced with the mortality of my human existence,
I wonder…
Who are we?
What are we here for?
What is the meaning of our existence?
Where do we go when we die?

Do we assemble in Odin’s great hall,
mead and meat flowing
partying as we await Ragnarok?
Do we on the fields of Elysium,
untouched by sorrows of man,
drink Ambrosia in reckless abandon with the gods?
Or do we go to Heaven,
singing hallelujah forth in dueteous praise
with the choir of angels singing backup
before the throne of heaven?
Where do we go when we die?

Do our souls get reborn?
in different vessels?
Do we get to redo our lives,
or live the same existence over and over again?
Are we reiterations of our past selves?
Where do we go when we die?

In my past life,
I think I was a swashbuckling adventurer,
an explorer, a seeker of truth.
In my past life,
I think I was a Renaissance man,
a rebel,
a leader of the new school.
In my past life,
I think I was a revolutionary
like Saint Atunda,
Da Vinci himself, or even Michelangelo…
In my past life,
I think I died unfulfilled…
pondering…
Where do we go when we die?

Sometimes, I get flashes.
of my past lives,
of my present life,
of my future lives…
But so soon, like deja vu,
they all fade away…
Thus dost I ponder…
Where do we go when we die?

--

--